Thread poster: Karine Sarant
Karine Sarant
Karine Sarant  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:47
English to French
May 21, 2017

Hi

I would appreciate if anyone of you could help me in regards to my current situation.

I have been a translator for quite a few years now and this is the first time that I have got a project in my field for a publishing house that I would like to keep as a client.

But here is the problem, I am just realizing that the price that they have offered me for one of the essays is ridiculously low in comparison to the complexity of the text. I have been workin
... See more
Hi

I would appreciate if anyone of you could help me in regards to my current situation.

I have been a translator for quite a few years now and this is the first time that I have got a project in my field for a publishing house that I would like to keep as a client.

But here is the problem, I am just realizing that the price that they have offered me for one of the essays is ridiculously low in comparison to the complexity of the text. I have been working on it everyday included weekends and I am exhausted.

I have never confirmed by email that I did agree with their initial rate. So do you think that when I contact them that I am in my right to ask them for more? Also, the text was so complex that I won't be able to give the last four pages on time. Do you think that I could also negotiate that suggesting maybe that they can give the last four pages to someone else ?

My last question, the other essay is on hold because some changes have been done. Unfortunately before knowing this I have almost done the entire translation. Here again, am I in my right to ask if I can be paid for the work that I have done despite of these changes.

I may say as well that I have never signed any contracts with them.

Shall I send them an email or call them when I do these negotiations?

If you have any constructive advise to give me just let me know, I would really appreciate