Thread poster: T_Herrmann (X)
T_Herrmann (X)
T_Herrmann (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:45
German to English
+ ...
Oct 25, 2003

Hi,

are there any Mac users out there using TRADOS? Thing is, I really think I've had it with PCs (Mind you I am a programmer with degree, yet I am still tired of them, and the new Macs with the cinema displays and so on really look interesting, also a friend of mine showed me the Mac versions of the MS-Office suite and they really do feature some cool stuff the PC versions don't have, especially Entourage.

Bottom line, I am flirting with the idea to switch. Now I have
... See more
Hi,

are there any Mac users out there using TRADOS? Thing is, I really think I've had it with PCs (Mind you I am a programmer with degree, yet I am still tired of them, and the new Macs with the cinema displays and so on really look interesting, also a friend of mine showed me the Mac versions of the MS-Office suite and they really do feature some cool stuff the PC versions don't have, especially Entourage.

Bottom line, I am flirting with the idea to switch. Now I have tried it with my buddies Mac running OS X, and indeed all ms-office files were compatible without any restrictions. I mean we emailed my XP versions to his OS X, and the attachments opened without any problems at all, formatting alright and what not.

Now, how is it with Trados though? I roamed translationzone.com, it doesn't say anything about Mac compatibility. When I think back when I was studying I think I remember that the VBA-basic on PC's is not Mac compatible, so would I have to run it in a sandbox???

I'd be grateful for any shared experience.

To Mac or not to Mac....

TIA
Tao
Collapse

R. James
R. James
United States
Local time: 05:45
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Nope. Oct 25, 2003

Apparently TRADOS doesn't see development on the Mac as part of keeping its strangehold.