Thread poster: Jacques DP
Jacques DP
Jacques DP  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 06:36
English to French
Oct 17, 2012

Hello there,

I am in the process of migrating my work processes from a PC setup to a Mac setup. Things are looking good but I am not there quite yet, and I would have a few questions... (I'm new to Macs but familiar with computer science in general)

So far I have done the following. I installed Windows 7 (Home Premium 64 bits) with Bootcamp. There I installed Studio and Multiterm 2009, and SDL Trados 2007. Then in OS X I installed Parallels Desktop 8 (trial version), an
... See more
Hello there,

I am in the process of migrating my work processes from a PC setup to a Mac setup. Things are looking good but I am not there quite yet, and I would have a few questions... (I'm new to Macs but familiar with computer science in general)

So far I have done the following. I installed Windows 7 (Home Premium 64 bits) with Bootcamp. There I installed Studio and Multiterm 2009, and SDL Trados 2007. Then in OS X I installed Parallels Desktop 8 (trial version), and I chose the option to use the Bootcamp partition as the basis for the Parallels virtual machine. This is on a 2011 iMac 21.5 with 12GB RAM.

The first problem I am meeting is with licenses. I could activate SDL Trados 2007 when booting the physical machine in Windows. But when accessing it from OS X in Parallels, I was asked to activate it again, and this time it refused, saying that I had activated it too many times. Is it the case that, though 2007 is installed only once in this setup, it would require two separate licenses/activations?

Thanks!

Jacques
Collapse

Giunia Totaro
Giunia Totaro  Identity Verified
French to Italian
+ ...
Why Bootcamp + Parallels? Oct 17, 2012

Hi Jacques,