Thread poster: pato_p
pato_p
pato_p
Chile
Local time: 05:37
Spanish to English
Feb 15, 2017

Hello,

I've been working with Lionbridge for a couple of years now, using a Windows based PC. The time has come for me to upgrade my machine and I've been looking at MAC computers.

I know Lionbridge tools are not compatible with MAC, but I was wondering if anyone has had experience or tried to use TMS, Xliff Editor or LTB on a MAC computer, whether using Parallels or BootCamp.

Any input is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Ravi Shah

jublo
jublo  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:37
English to German
+ ...
Overview of Mac user options for TW, Xliff Editor and LTB Aug 8, 2017

pato_p wrote:

I know Lionbridge tools are not compatible with MAC, but I was wondering if anyone has had experience or tried to use TMS, Xliff Editor or LTB on a MAC computer, whether using Parallels or BootCamp.

• TMS is a web-based application, so you can open Safari and browse to https://tms.lionbridge.com/.

• The same applies to jobs in their Cloud Translation Environment (CTE), which is accessible if you receive jobs in TMS that are marked as CTE collections.

• As for the Translation Workspace Tools, they require an installed copy of Microsoft Office, so I'm not sure, however you will only need the tools for preparing raw source files or post-processing completed translation files, not for the actual translation.

• Talking about the TW Xliff Editor, it will run fine inside Wine (a Windows runtime emulator), so I would suggest that you get Kronenberg’s WineBottler and install the TW Xliff Editor’s setup file through it. The only issues you will notice are these:

1. When starting, the Xliff Editor may complain about a missing .dll. So take your Logoport.dll from the old Windows installation of the Translation Workspace tools, and drop it into XliffEditor.app/Contents/Resources/wineprefix/drive_c/Program Files/Lionbridge/Translation Workspace Xliff Editor folder.