Packages disappearing: Absolutely at my wits' end
Thread poster: Stephanie Kantorski
Stephanie Kantorski
Stephanie Kantorski  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:38
French to English
Dec 28, 2018

I have Trados Studio 2017. I have been using SDL/Trados products since 2003 both as a PM and professional translator. I'm confidently IT- and technically-inclined.

So, I'm not a newbie at this. My system: MacBook Pro with Parallels and Trados Studio 2017 on Windows 2007.

But this has got to stop: DISAPPEARING PACKAGES/PROJECTS. I have researched this to no end.

I have ALWAYS opened the program by right-clicking and clicking on "Run as Administrator." I hav
... See more
I have Trados Studio 2017. I have been using SDL/Trados products since 2003 both as a PM and professional translator. I'm confidently IT- and technically-inclined.

So, I'm not a newbie at this. My system: MacBook Pro with Parallels and Trados Studio 2017 on Windows 2007.

But this has got to stop: DISAPPEARING PACKAGES/PROJECTS. I have researched this to no end.

I have ALWAYS opened the program by right-clicking and clicking on "Run as Administrator." I have set my preferences and properties on the PC side (and reset it multiple times) to I'M AN ADMINISTRATOR. It's MY computer, no one else uses it. EVER.

I have even tried to ask questions on an SDL forum, for which they demand I watch a video tutorial to do (there is no "ask a question" button I can find anywhere).

I am so damned sick of having to reload and re-pre-translate my projects only to find that it doesn't actually pre-translate everything and then I have to REDO my edits.

BIG QUESTION #1: Is this a PC-on-a-Mac thing?

BIG QUESTION #2: Why doesn't anything I try make this better?

BIG QUESTION #3: Why the *&^%$## hasn't SDL done anything about this? I know it's not a NEW problem and I know it's not MY problem. They know it too.

HELP, please....once and for all.
Collapse

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)