Thread poster: TTilch
TTilch
TTilch  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:35
English to German
+ ...
Aug 13, 2005

Hi,

I am considering (also) buying a Mac. I've already read a lot about Virtual PC working together with Wordfast and Trados and am wondering whether it's neccessary/better to use a MS Office version for Mac or whether it's also ok to use a MS Office version for Windows under Virtual PC. Could you please advise me, since I have no experience yet with Macs?

Thank you.

Tanja

tlmurray (X)
tlmurray (X)
Local time: 18:35
English
Mac Office and Win Office Aug 13, 2005

I Virtual PC on a Mac PowerBook quite a bit (but not Wordfast and Trados). I like the the Mac products much better execpt for one thing: I have to use the mouse a lot in Mac. I prefer the keyboard.

Be aware that non-fixed line spacing is a bit different (and for the life of me I can't recall which one is tighter/looser) between Mac and Win Word, so don't bet that page breaks will be the same.

Rodolfo Raya
Rodolfo Raya  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:35
English to Spanish
Use MS Office for Windows Aug 13, 2005

I am considering (also) buying a Mac. I've already read a lot about Virtual PC working together with Wordfast and Trados and am wondering whether it's neccessary/better to use a MS Office version for Mac or whether it's also ok to use a MS Office version for Windows under Virtual PC. Could you please advise me, since I have no experience yet with Macs?

Hi Tanja,

Sometimes Office for Windows has problems reading documents created/manipulated with MS Office for Mac. If you are going to use Virtual PC, use MS Office for Windows too.

You should also consider using CAT tools desiged for Mac. Native applications run faster.

Virtual PC is just an emulator and Windows software can't run at the speed of your Mac because a lot of time is wasted emulating a different environment.