Thread poster: Marcel Gomez
Marcel Gomez
Marcel Gomez  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 04:53
Japanese to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 19, 2017

I would like to tell you about an interesting experience, and possibly get in touch with someone who has had the same type of experience.

I am a JapaneseEnglish translator and started full-time translation in 2011.

One day during my first months of full-time freelancing, I got a close deadline. It was the last day; I was running against the clock; and I also had to run to the airport immediately after finishing the project. My eyes were rushing through the text. I was m
... See more
I would like to tell you about an interesting experience, and possibly get in touch with someone who has had the same type of experience.

I am a JapaneseEnglish translator and started full-time translation in 2011.

One day during my first months of full-time freelancing, I got a close deadline. It was the last day; I was running against the clock; and I also had to run to the airport immediately after finishing the project. My eyes were rushing through the text. I was moving my eyes so fast and so constantly that I ended up causing myself a terrible dizziness. The feeling can be described as the type of vision you get when you are drunk, or when you see things with your least trained eye. There was no blur or headache, just a terrible dizziness.

To my surprise, it lingered for over 3 days! At the beginning I felt cool. "I am a translator so, these are the nuisances a translator has to cope with", I thought. On the third day I started to feel worried, but fortunately it had disappeared by the morning of the fourth day.

In the following years, I repeated the same experience about once a year, but it never got as intense or lasted as long.