How to get certified as a medical translator?
Thread poster: Rana Elshabasy
Rana Elshabasy
Rana Elshabasy
Egypt
Local time: 15:50
English to Arabic
Feb 26, 2017

Hi everyone,
I want to ask about Medical translation certification (online) for someone who has a medical background. I'm graduated from the faculty of pharmacy and most of the programs I found were talking about teaching medical terminology and physiology which are not beneficial for me as I studied these branches in-depth before. Can anyone help?

Joseph Tein
Joseph Tein  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:50
Member (2009)
Spanish to English
+ ...
There isn't any certification. Feb 26, 2017

I translate medical texts from Italian and Spanish into English.

There is no official or internationally recognized medical translation certification, as far as I know. Most translation agencies will have you take their own in-house test, and will send you work once you have passed their test.

In addition, I think that if you have a good professional profile in ProZ and have earned a lot of KudoZ points, you will attract offers from companies that are looking for c
... See more
I translate medical texts from Italian and Spanish into English.

There is no official or internationally recognized medical translation certification, as far as I know. Most translation agencies will have you take their own in-house test, and will send you work once you have passed their test.

In addition, I think that if you have a good professional profile in ProZ and have earned a lot of KudoZ points, you will attract offers from companies that are looking for competent translators in your language pair(s).
Collapse

R A Translations
R A Translations
Netherlands
Local time: 14:50
Portuguese to English
+ ...
I second your opinion Feb 27, 2017