Nathalie Coutelle  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:44
Member (2008)
English to French
+ ...
May 10, 2016

Hi everybody!

I registered as autonomo a few months ago and I just received a letter from la "Direction general de la inspeccion de trabajo". They are giving me a specific appointment to show a list of documents.

Is this a routine procedure for all autonomous ?

Any tips ?

Many thanks in advance

Nathalie

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 21:44
Spanish to English
+ ...
SNAFU in Spain May 10, 2016

Yes, it's standard procedure (unless you're lucky - I went for years without an audit until a couple of years ago. As I'm not very good at keeping invoices, I ended up having to pay back roughly €3000, equivalent to about €1000 a year, because I had claimed VAT tax relief, but didn't manage to keep all the receipts and invoices to justify these outgoings). Just take copies of every invoice you've ever issued or other relevant piece of paper with you. Tax records from previous years if you ... See more
Yes, it's standard procedure (unless you're lucky - I went for years without an audit until a couple of years ago. As I'm not very good at keeping invoices, I ended up having to pay back roughly €3000, equivalent to about €1000 a year, because I had claimed VAT tax relief, but didn't manage to keep all the receipts and invoices to justify these outgoings). Just take copies of every invoice you've ever issued or other relevant piece of paper with you. Tax records from previous years if you have them. Certificates of tax withholdings from clients, again, if you have them.

PS: It's nothing to worry about really - the worst-case scenario is they can fine you or make you pay if they think they find discrepancies in your statements, but as you've only been in business for a few months, it's probably just a formality. However, if your Spanish isn't very fluent, it might be advisable to take someone knowledgeable with you, like a gestor.