Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:57
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Feb 3, 2011

Hello,

Have any of you ever been asked to do paraphrasing? I've just seen a job post looking for a "paraphrasing expert - academic texts".

Well, I do a lot of proofreading, much of it having been written by learners of English and consequently there's a lot of "paraphrasing" involved if, indeed, this is just a euphemism for "correcting". Do you think that's what it is? Maybe I'm an expert in something I never knew existed, or maybe it's something different.

... See more
Hello,

Have any of you ever been asked to do paraphrasing? I've just seen a job post looking for a "paraphrasing expert - academic texts".

Well, I do a lot of proofreading, much of it having been written by learners of English and consequently there's a lot of "paraphrasing" involved if, indeed, this is just a euphemism for "correcting". Do you think that's what it is? Maybe I'm an expert in something I never knew existed, or maybe it's something different.

Sheila
Collapse

Sarah Swift
Sarah Swift  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:57
German to English
Paraphrasing experts and other odd jobs Feb 3, 2011

I've never worked as a "paraphrasing expert," but I think the poster is looking for an editor who can re-write content so that the wording is different but the meaning is more or less unchanged. Summarizing an academic paper to turn it into a press release would probably involve paraphasing the author's main ideas, for example.

When I worked as an English teacher, we used to ask students to paraphrase texts quite regularly because having to reproduce content without being a
... See more